It Happened in Michigan

Remarkable Events That Shaped History
Author: Colleen Burcar
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 0762767545
Category: History
Page: 160
View: 1430
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book offers an inside look at over 25 interesting and unusual episodes that shaped the history of the Great Lakes State.

The Life and Legacy of Annie Oakley


Author: Glenda Riley
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
ISBN: 0806187247
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 272
View: 426
DOWNLOAD NOW »
With a widowed mother and six siblings, Annie Oakley first became a trapper, hunter, and sharpshooter simply to put food on the table. Yet her genius with the gun eventually led to her stardom in Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show during the latter half of the nineteenth century. The archetypal western woman, Annie Oakley urged women to take up shooting to procure food, protect themselves, and enjoy healthy exercise, yet she was also the proper Victorian lady, demurely dressed and skeptical about the value of women’s suffrage. Glenda Riley presents the first interpretive biography of the complex woman who was Annie Oakley.

Lone Star 125/wolf Pa


Author: Wesley Ellis
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101169222
Category: Fiction
Page: 226
View: 6140
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Jessie and Ki set a trap for a blood-hungry killer—with Jessie as the bait! When one of Jessie's ranch hands is killed at the hands of Wolf Martyn and his band of outlaws, Jessie teams up with Ki to send Wolf's pack scattering.

Out of the Ashes


Author: Skip Allen
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 0595763308
Category: Fiction
Page: 292
View: 9812
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The September 11 terrorist attacks are nearly a five-year-old memory. Though the United States has never felt more secure, al Qaida is getting ready to prove otherwise. Instead of commercial airliners, now al Qaida plans to use a biological weapon of mass destruction they call the "Phoenix." Instead of fanatical Muslim terrorists, they've recruited three young American men to commit acts of bioterrorism without suspicion. Instead of targets like New York City and the Pentagon, they plan to strike America's Heartland, unleashing the Phoenix on three unsuspecting cities while the nation celebrates its independence. The government's ultra-secret Phoenix Task Force races against the clock to decode al Qaida's encrypted communications network and expose the Phoenix operation. The President orders task force agents army officer Matt Garret and government scientist Annie Stewart to work undercover for the head al Qaida Phoenix operative in the Costa Rican tropics. With only seven days before the attack, Matt and Annie become entangled in a web of love and terrorist intrigue, putting their lives at risk to unlock the secrets of the Phoenix and to stop al Qaida's diabolical plot before the Phoenix can rise Out of the Ashes.

The Happiest Corpse I've Ever Seen

The Last Twenty-Five Years of the Broadway Musical
Author: Ethan Mordden
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 1466893443
Category: Performing Arts
Page: 320
View: 1873
DOWNLOAD NOW »
For Ethan Mordden, the closing night of the hit musical, 42nd St. sounded the death knell of the art form of the Broadway musical. After that, big orchestras, real voices, recognizable books and intelligent lyrics went out the window in favor of cats, helicopters, yodeling Frenchmen, and the roof of the Paris Opera. Mordden takes us through the aftermath of the days of the great Broadway musical. From the long-running Cats to Miss Saigon, Phantom, and Les Miserables, to gems like The Producers, he is unsparing in his look at the remains of the day. Not content to scold the shows' creators, Mordden takes on the critics, too, splaying their bodies across the Great White Way like Sweeney Todd giving a close shave. Once more, it's "curtain going up," but Mordden is not applauding.

Annie John

A Novel
Author: Jamaica Kincaid
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 1466837780
Category: Fiction
Page: 160
View: 5646
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

The Penny Tree


Author: Holly Kennedy
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781440623233
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 7758
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Single mom Annie Hillman has been coping with trouble for so long. She's just getting through the days. Seemingly out of nowhere a local newspaper carries an ad featuring a picture of a young Annie on the front page, with an earnest message of love and regret from an unknown admirer. The paper’s editor refuses to name names, but the ads continue to appear, and when the story breaks, Annie finds herself in the national spotlight. Now, for the first time in years, Annie is beginning to see that joy might be possible even in the midst of hard times-and that the life she's led, along with the people she’s loved, might still show her the way.

Rules of Engagement


Author: Bruce Alexander
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101205393
Category: Fiction
Page: 288
View: 1088
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“Richly detailed fiction…storytelling in the grand classic tradition.”—The New York Times “Fascinating and impeccably written . . . should delight old fans and new readers.”—Chicago Tribune “Triumphant.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) When Lord Lammermoor plunges to his death from Westminster Bridge before a dozen witnesses, his death is ruled a suicide. But his fatal leap coincides with the arrival of Dr. Goldsworthy—a student of the famous Dr. Anton Mesmer and his research into animal magnetism. Sir John’s suspicions grow when he learns that Goldsworthy’s patron in London is none other than the beautiful Lady Lammermoor. And the deeper Jeremy investigates the Lammermoor family, the more suspects he discovers who stand to gain from Lord Lammermoor’s death. “A wonderful series.”—The Washington Post Book World Bruce Alexander was the pseudonym for Bruce Cook. He died in 2003 having completed most of Rules of Engagement and left notes on how the rest of the story unfolded. John Shannon, author of the highly praised Jack Liffey series, most recently Terminal Island, completed the novel with Bruce’s wife, J. Aller Cook.

The Legacy of Annie Rose


Author: Carolyn E. Swagerle
Publisher: AuthorHouse
ISBN: 1449014674
Category: Nature
Page: 104
View: 3203
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Beginning with Carolyn's victory over arachnophobia, The Legacy of Annie Rose details the extraordinary story that follows the purchase of a Grammostola rosea tarantula. Months after she brings this giant arachnid home, a crisis develops that throws her life into chaos. Annie unexpectedly lays eggs. Tarantula experts state that the eggs will surely not survive to develop under the hand of a novice. Nevertheless, because a minute possibility exists to the contrary, she sets out to prepare. Astonishment and discovery become daily companions as Carolyn is plunged into the world of tarantulas in a way she never expected. This educational, photo-documented account contains over 200 color photographs.

We Pointed Them North

Recollections of a Cowpuncher
Author: E.C. "Teddy Blue" Abbott,Helena Huntington Smith
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
ISBN: 0806186828
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 272
View: 8284
DOWNLOAD NOW »
E. C. Abbott was a cowboy in the great days of the 1870's and 1880's. He came up the trail to Montana from Texas with the long-horned herds which were to stock the northern ranges; he punched cows in Montana when there wasn't a fence in the territory; and he married a daughter of Granville Stuart, the famous early-day stockman and Montana pioneer. For more than fifty years he was known to cowmen from Texas to Alberta as "Teddy Blue." This is his story, as told to Helena Huntington Smith, who says that the book is "all Teddy Blue. My part was to keep out of the way and not mess it up by being literary.... Because the cowboy flourished in the middle of the Victorian age, which is certainly a funny paradox, no realistic picture of him was ever drawn in his own day. Here is a self-portrait by a cowboy which is full and honest." And Teddy Blue himself says, "Other old-timers have told all about stampedes and swimming rivers and what a terrible time we had, but they never put in any of the fun, and fun was at least half of it." So here it is—the cowboy classic, with the "terrible" times and the "fun" which have entertained readers everywhere. First published in 1939, We Pointed Them North has been brought back into print by the University of Oklahoma Press in completely new format, with drawings by Nick Eggenhofer, and with the full, original text.