How Annie Made It to the Stage


Author: Jeri Freedman
Publisher: Cavendish Square Publishing, LLC
ISBN: 1502635003
Category: Young Adult Nonfiction
Page: 96
View: 5235
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Annie is a landmark play that has made many contributions to musical theater, including the song "Tomorrow." The original play was staged more than two thousand times on Broadway, and it has been presented continuously around the world by touring companies and local theater groups. It has been made into big-screen and television movies and has gone through several revivals. Its greatest achievement was to restore the musical to prominence, opening the way for the staging of the greatest blockbusters ever performed. This book describes the path the play took from concept to the stage, its Broadway run, its influence, and the people who made the show a success.

It Happened in Michigan

Remarkable Events That Shaped History
Author: Colleen Burcar
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 0762767545
Category: History
Page: 160
View: 3329
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book offers an inside look at over 25 interesting and unusual episodes that shaped the history of the Great Lakes State.

The Life and Legacy of Annie Oakley


Author: Glenda Riley
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
ISBN: 0806187247
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 272
View: 1974
DOWNLOAD NOW »
With a widowed mother and six siblings, Annie Oakley first became a trapper, hunter, and sharpshooter simply to put food on the table. Yet her genius with the gun eventually led to her stardom in Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show during the latter half of the nineteenth century. The archetypal western woman, Annie Oakley urged women to take up shooting to procure food, protect themselves, and enjoy healthy exercise, yet she was also the proper Victorian lady, demurely dressed and skeptical about the value of women’s suffrage. Glenda Riley presents the first interpretive biography of the complex woman who was Annie Oakley.

The Happiest Corpse I've Ever Seen

The Last Twenty-Five Years of the Broadway Musical
Author: Ethan Mordden
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 1466893443
Category: Performing Arts
Page: 320
View: 9248
DOWNLOAD NOW »
For Ethan Mordden, the closing night of the hit musical, 42nd St. sounded the death knell of the art form of the Broadway musical. After that, big orchestras, real voices, recognizable books and intelligent lyrics went out the window in favor of cats, helicopters, yodeling Frenchmen, and the roof of the Paris Opera. Mordden takes us through the aftermath of the days of the great Broadway musical. From the long-running Cats to Miss Saigon, Phantom, and Les Miserables, to gems like The Producers, he is unsparing in his look at the remains of the day. Not content to scold the shows' creators, Mordden takes on the critics, too, splaying their bodies across the Great White Way like Sweeney Todd giving a close shave. Once more, it's "curtain going up," but Mordden is not applauding.

Out of the Ashes


Author: Skip Allen
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 0595763308
Category: Fiction
Page: 292
View: 2229
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The September 11 terrorist attacks are nearly a five-year-old memory. Though the United States has never felt more secure, al Qaida is getting ready to prove otherwise. Instead of commercial airliners, now al Qaida plans to use a biological weapon of mass destruction they call the "Phoenix." Instead of fanatical Muslim terrorists, they've recruited three young American men to commit acts of bioterrorism without suspicion. Instead of targets like New York City and the Pentagon, they plan to strike America's Heartland, unleashing the Phoenix on three unsuspecting cities while the nation celebrates its independence. The government's ultra-secret Phoenix Task Force races against the clock to decode al Qaida's encrypted communications network and expose the Phoenix operation. The President orders task force agents army officer Matt Garret and government scientist Annie Stewart to work undercover for the head al Qaida Phoenix operative in the Costa Rican tropics. With only seven days before the attack, Matt and Annie become entangled in a web of love and terrorist intrigue, putting their lives at risk to unlock the secrets of the Phoenix and to stop al Qaida's diabolical plot before the Phoenix can rise Out of the Ashes.

Lone Star 125/wolf Pa


Author: Wesley Ellis
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101169222
Category: Fiction
Page: 226
View: 6459
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Jessie and Ki set a trap for a blood-hungry killer—with Jessie as the bait! When one of Jessie's ranch hands is killed at the hands of Wolf Martyn and his band of outlaws, Jessie teams up with Ki to send Wolf's pack scattering.

Annie John

A Novel
Author: Jamaica Kincaid
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 1466837780
Category: Fiction
Page: 160
View: 2337
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

Pick Yourself Up

Dorothy Fields and the American Musical
Author: Charlotte Greenspan
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0199779791
Category: Music
Page: 336
View: 9557
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In a career that spanned nearly five decades, Dorothy Fields penned the words to more than four hundred songs, among them mega-hits such as "On the Sunny Side of the Street," "I Can't Give You Anything But Love," "The Way You Look Tonight," and "If My Friends Could See Me Now." While Fields's name may be known mainly to connoisseurs, her contributions to our popular culture--indeed, our national consciousness--have been remarkable. In Pick Yourself Up, Charlotte Greenspan offers the most complete, serious treatment of Fields's life and work to date, tracing her rise to prominence in a male-dominated world.

Rules of Engagement


Author: Bruce Alexander
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101205393
Category: Fiction
Page: 288
View: 637
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“Richly detailed fiction…storytelling in the grand classic tradition.”—The New York Times “Fascinating and impeccably written . . . should delight old fans and new readers.”—Chicago Tribune “Triumphant.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) When Lord Lammermoor plunges to his death from Westminster Bridge before a dozen witnesses, his death is ruled a suicide. But his fatal leap coincides with the arrival of Dr. Goldsworthy—a student of the famous Dr. Anton Mesmer and his research into animal magnetism. Sir John’s suspicions grow when he learns that Goldsworthy’s patron in London is none other than the beautiful Lady Lammermoor. And the deeper Jeremy investigates the Lammermoor family, the more suspects he discovers who stand to gain from Lord Lammermoor’s death. “A wonderful series.”—The Washington Post Book World Bruce Alexander was the pseudonym for Bruce Cook. He died in 2003 having completed most of Rules of Engagement and left notes on how the rest of the story unfolded. John Shannon, author of the highly praised Jack Liffey series, most recently Terminal Island, completed the novel with Bruce’s wife, J. Aller Cook.

An Introduction to Yoga


Author: Annie Wood Besant
Publisher: 1st World Publishing
ISBN: 9781595402004
Category: Health & Fitness
Page: 120
View: 2199
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Purchase one of 1st World Library's Classic Books and help support our free internet library of downloadable eBooks. 1st World Library-Literary Society is a non-profit educational organization. Visit us online at www.1stWorldLibrary.ORG - - These lectures [FN#1: Delivered at the 32nd Anniversary of the Theosophical Society held at Benares, on Dec. 27th, 28th, 29th, and 30th, 1907.] are intended to give an outline of Yoga, in order to prepare the student to take up, for practical purposes, the Yoga sutras of Patanjali, the chief treatise on Yoga. I have on hand, with my friend Bhagavan Das as collaborateur, a translation of these Sutras, with Vyasa's commentary, and a further commentary and elucidation written in the light of Theosophy. [FN#2: These have never been finished or printed.] To prepare the student for the mastering of that more difficult task, these lectures were designed; hence the many references to Patanjali. They may, however, also serve to give to the ordinary lay reader some idea of the Science of sciences, and perhaps to allure a few towards its study.